Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Voters place Biar, Martinka on TISD school board

Thorndale voters selected Kimberly Biar and Chad Martinka to serve on the Thorndale ISD School Board. Biar received 925 votes, Martinka received 517 votes, Lance Weidler received 193 votes and Terrell Weise received 341 votes.

Precinct 4 voters re-elected Michael Moehling Jr. to serve as Precinct 4 Constable. Republican Moehling received 1,930 votes and Democrat Sam Pickett received 737 votes.

All other candidates in the county were unchallenged in the general election including: District Judge John Youngblood, County Attorney Bill Torrey, Sheriff Chris White, Tax Assessor Collector Sherry Mueck, Precinct 1 Commissioner Henry “Hub” Hubnik, Precint 3 Commissioner Arthur Neal, Precinct 1 Constable James Pratt, Precinct 2 Constable Charles “Charlie” West, and Precinct 3 Constable Jay Beathard. 

State and National election

Milam County voters overwhelmingly voted to send President Donald J. Trump and Vice President Mike Pence back to Washington. The Republicans garnered 7,950 votes in the county. Democrats Joe Biden and Kamala Harris garnered 2,475 votes. Libertarian candidates Jo Jorgenson and Jeremy Cohen received 72 votes and Green candidates Howie Hawkins and Angela Walker received 24 votes.

As of press time election results on a national scale including Texas had not been called.

County voters went with Texas as a whole to send Republican John Cornyn back for a fourth term in the senate. Cornyn received 7,725 votes in the county. Democratic challenger Mary “MJ” Hegar received 2,365 votes. Libertarian Kerry Douglas McKennon received 135 votes and Green candidate David B. Collins received 53 votes.

Cornyn had 54 percent of the vote across the state as of press time.

In the race for U.S. Rep – District 17 county voters selected Republican Pete Sessions to replace longtime Congressman Bill Flores. Sessions received 7,766 votes. Democrat Rick Kennedy received 2,305 votes and Libertarian Ted Brown received 191 votes. 

Sessions had 56 percent of the vote across District 17 as of press time.

Terry Wilson, incumbent District 20 State Representative, won county voters and district voters to return to the Texas Legislature. He received 7,798 votes in the county. Democrat Jessica Tiedt received 2,266 votes. Wilson garnered 71 percent of the vote across District 20.

The Cameron Herald

The Cameron Herald
P.O. Box 1230
Cameron, Texas 76520

Phone: 254-697-6671
Fax: 254-697-4902