Election results

Cameron City Council

Incumbent Cameron City Councilwoman Virgie Hardeman reclaimed her Ward 5 council post with a win over two opponents. Hardeman took 47 votes to Ruth Canday`s 19 and Mirl Forrest`s 2.

Unopposed candidates declared winners were Daniel Willie, Robert Davis, Jr., and Melissa Williams.

Cameron ISD

Current CISD Board President James Burks coasted to re-election with 243 votes. Roy Martinez won the second open seat with 195 votes in a close race with Melanie Romine. Romine had 192 votes. Jenny Gebhart had 60 votes and Robert Welsh had 44 votes.

Thorndale City Council

Newcomer Ryan Davenport wa overwhelmingly voted in as Thorndale mayor. Davenport garnered 93 votes to Allen Hejl's 54 votes and George Galbreath's 42 votes. Larry Drabek and Stephanie Churchman were returned to their council seats. Churchman had 127 votes and Drabek had 108 votes. Challenger Charles Barnhill had 60 votes.

Thorndale residents also approved a proposition for city street taxes 150-35.

Thorndale ISD

Thorndale ISD voters voted down a $12.5 million bond for the school district 229-168. 


Buckholts voters selected Antonio Villanueva and Keith Janicek as councilmembers. Teresa "Teri" Eaton beat out incumbent Ricky McCall as mayor.

For the school board, Leslie Lorenz, Margaret Green, and Kerri Hernandez took the open seats.