Texas Historical Commission honors MCHC with 25th Distinguished Service award

Delores Mode, the Milam County Historical Commission’s longest tenured member, received the Texas Historical Commission’s Distinguished Service Award on behalf of the MCHC. The award was presented in Commissioners Court on Monday. Shown at the presentation Monday are Commissioner Pct. 1 Richard “Opey” Watkins, Commissioner Pct, 2 Donald Shuffield, County Judge David Barkemeyer, Delores Mode, Commissioner Pct. 3 John Fisher and Commissioner Pct. 4 Jeff Muegge.


The Milam County Commissioners Court had a short meeting on Monday.

The Texas Historical Commission awarded the “Distinguished Service Award” to the Milam County Historical Commission at the meeting.  The Milam County volunteer group has won this award for 25 consecutive years. The award, officially presented during a commissioners court meeting, recognizes their “exceptional efforts” for programs targeted to the preservation of Milam County history in 2015.

In other business, the commissioners court:

• Approved the designation of two private roads: PR 3482 and PR 7913 East;

• Approved an agreement by which Precinct 4 Commissioner Jeff Muegge will assist the Thorndale Volunteer Fire Department improve access to its hall in Thorndale;

• Granted permission to Precinct 2 Commissioner Donald Shuffield to advertise for bids for a low-water crossing on County Road 136; and

• Granted permission to Shuffield to advertise for bids to replace the bridge on County Road 267 which was washed-out by the flooding of Little Pond Creek in April.