City calls local option liquor election May 7

A local option liquor election to permit the legal sale of all alcoholic beverages including mixed beverages in the City of Cameron will be a ballot issue in a special election May 7.
The City Council called the election Tuesday night after City Secretary Amy Harris reported the petition issued in December had been returned and certified with 362 signatures, exceeding the required number of 307.
The Cameron Chamber of Commerce and local businesses filed the petition and gathered the signatures to seek the special election.
Chamber members Daniel Willie and Neal Bhakta said the measure would help attract more businesses, especially popular restaurant chains.
Noting that some of the chains are now developing smaller facilities for smaller markets, Willie noted that the new Applebees in Taylor “has a small footprint” and pointed out that Taylor economic development officials said they would not have been able to attract the restaurant if the city did not have the “liquor by the drink” permit option.
So far, incumbents in the city council election are unopposed, Harris said, and if no more candidates file by the deadline of 5 p.m. Friday, the council elections could be cancelled. However, the special election will be held.
By law, the city holds elections jointly with Cameron ISD. So far, incumbents in that election are also unopposed.
Harris estimated the special election could cost as much as $8,000 and that poll workers will have to be hired and paid for the early voting days as well as Election Day.
Early voting by personal appearance runs from April 25 through May 3. Early voting for the special election and the city and school elections, if held, will be held at Cameron City Hall, 100 S. Houston. On Election Day, voters will cast ballots for both elections at C.H. Yoe High School.
Incumbents seeking re-election to the Cameron City Council include Mayor Connie Anderle, Ward 2 council member Bobby Schiller and Ward 4 council member Roselee Mondrik. Incumbent school board trustees seeking re-election are Alan Patterson and Jason Dohnalik.