Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Ballot set for March primary

Milam County voters will have six contested races to decide in the Republican Primary in March.

The filing deadline for the March 3 primaries was Dec. 16.

County Chair Bill Whitmire said the last filing was for Precinct 2 Constable. Kris Stringer filed to face incumbent Charlie West.

There is a three-way race for sheriff as incumbent Sheriff Chris White will face Herbie Vaughan and Craig Wise.

The race for Precinct 3 Commissioner will see Art Neal, Frank Summers and Charles Truitt face off for the seat currently occupied by retiring John Fisher.

There is also a three-man race for Precinct 1 Commissioner as incumbent Richard “Opey” Watkins will face Henry Hubnik and Ricky McCall.

District Attorney Bill Torrey will face challenger Lonnie Gosch.

In the race for Precinct 1 Constable Pat Guffey and James Pratt will face off. Incumbent John Anderle did not file.

Four Milam County office holders are unopposed for re-election. They are 20th District Court Judge John Youngblood, Milam County Tax/Assessor Collector Sherry Mueck, Precinct 3 Constable Jay Beathard, and Precinct 4 Constable Michael Moehling.

There were no Democrats filing for county offices.

Early voting begins Feb. 18 and goes until Feb. 28. Voting day is March 3.

The Cameron Herald

The Cameron Herald
P.O. Box 1230
Cameron, Texas 76520

Phone: 254-697-6671
Fax: 254-697-4902