Vargas earns MVP; Brashear named Coach of the Year in District 10-3A

Several outstanding Yoe players and Coach Tommy Brashear have earned All-District honors for the 2018 season.

The District MVP was junior running back and linebacker Nico Vargas, who paced all runners in rushing touchdowns during the regular season. 

Senior standout defensive lineman Anthony Steamer was named Co-Defensive MVP. Eduardo Gil was named Defensive Newcomer of the Year. Tommy Brashear was also picked as Coach of the Year. 

First team selections were: quarterback Braden Brashear, running back Anthony Steamer, wide receiver and return specialist Kadrian Hammond, wide receiver Kobe Young, offensive lineman Frank Ibarra, offensive lineman Caleb Hubnik, offensive lineman Dominic Lewis, linebacker Alex Alonso, linebacker Ulices Cardona, linebacker Patrick England, linebacker Rigo Valdez, defensive back KaZirrius Holt, defensive back Thomas Melton, defensive back Calvin Stewart. 

Second team selections were: kicker Ulices Cardona, running back Davion Bynaum, running back J.D. Wilson, wide receiver James DeBose, wide receiver Kazirrius Holt, wide receiver Anthony Layne, offensive lineman Will Scott, offensive lineman Alfredo Sierra, linebacker Jale Walzel, defensive back Kadrian Hammond, and defensive back Davion Bynaum. 

Honorable Mention went to Richie Acosta, Domanique Borgas, Billy Collier, Chris Johnson, and Kirk Lara.

Three players were picked as Academic All-District: Braden Brashear, Anthony Layne and Heath Hollas. 

Others joining the Yoe players on the All-District list were: co-defensive MVP Ricky Guardiola of Troy; offensive MVP Zach Hrbacek of Troy; and offensive newcomer of the year Camron Valdez of Rockdale.

Others earning first team honors were: kicker - Luis Iruegas of Rockdale, punter – Bryce Erickson of Lago Vista and Ricky Cuevas of Manor New Tech; quarterback – Jace Robinson of Rockdale and Riley Cosper of Troy; running back – Jasper Compton of Jarrell and Sam Jones of Troy; wide receiver – Jaylin McWilliams of Academy, Coleman Berg of Academy, Britt Mauldin of Academy, Sam Hurley of Lago Vista, Kesean Raven of Rockdale, Ross Loth of Rockdale, and Ty Jarolik of Troy; tight end – Beau Workman of Troy; offensive line – Dawson Warren of Academy, Griffin Beard of Lago Vista, Carson Offield of Rockdale, Jordan Cotanny of Troy, and Ian McDonald of Troy; defensive line – Jacori Lewis of Academy, Dawson Warren of Academy, Jareth Rosalez of Jarrell, Josh Davenport of Rockdale, Caden McBride of Rockdale, Caleb Owens of Troy and Ian McDonald of Troy; linebacker – Gavin Freeman of Academy, Wyatt Gardner of Academy, Troy Douglas of Jarrell, Matthew Arnold of Jarrell, Nathan Weichman of Lago Vista, Jack Hood of Lago Vista, Jackson Perry of Rockdale, Mason Cooke of Troy, and Beau Workman of Troy; defensive back – Will Storey of Rockdale, Levi Baggerly of Rockdale, Steven Stanford of Troy, and Kody Kaminski of Troy.

Others earning second team honors were: kicker – Carlos Hernandez of Academy; punter – Beau Workman of Troy; return specialist – Jaylin McWilliams of Academy; quarterback – Jerry Cephus of Academy; running back - Johnny Rouse of Academy; wide receiver – Tagen Jones of Academy, Joseph Shamburger of Jarrell, Joseph Crathers of Jarrell, Quentin Hughes of Rockdale, Ben Presley of Troy, and Blake Popelka of Troy; offensive line – Wyatt Gardner of Academy, Jacob Copeland of Jarrell, Jack Hood of Lago Vista, Chris Pessin of Lago Vista, E’Mauri Glass of Manor New Tech, Robert Barrera of Rockdale, Ty Mayberry of Rockdale, Brady Mays of Troy Zach Westbrook of Troy and Tyler Jackson of Troy; defensive line – Tanner Rambeau of Academy, Devin Warren of Jarrell, Seth Babin of Lago Vista, Griffin Beard of Lago Vista, Jarrett Murrow of Troy, and Dylan Yates of Troy; linebacker – Michael Pritchard of Academy, James Wright of Jarrell, Canaan Monroe of Manor New Tech, Preston Debault of Rockdale, and Sam Jones of Troy; defensive back – Dalton Head of Academy, Corbin Bush of Academy, Martin Torres of Jarrell, Nathan Newlin of Rockdale, Ty Jarolik of Troy, and Blake Popelka of Troy.

Academic All-District: Martin Aguado, C.J. Allen, Matthew Arnold, Anthony Brown, Aden Edgar, Johnny Fitzsimmons, Charles Guerra, Riley Hammett, Tyler Lambert, Jaden Neill, Christopher Pursley, Martin Torres and Brennam Wilson of Jarrell; Carlos Hernandez, Kendall Dakroub, Tanner Rambeau and Treyton Bates of Academy.

Honorable mention: Evan Barabas, Dalton Head, Kendall Dakroub and Owen Duffield of Academy; Heron Rodriguez, C.J. Allen, Anthony Brown, Riley Hammett, Anthony Gadison, Brennan Wilson and Thomas Clawson of Jarrell; Jordan Carter and Treyton Bates of Academy; Jesus Perez of Jarrell; Sam Hurley, Grant Arrietta, Josh Hernandez, Seth Babin, Layne Powers and Cody Jackson of Lago Vista.