Early voting opens in primary elections

Early voting for the March 1 primary elections got off to a brisk start Tuesday with almost 300 ballots cast.
According to County Clerk Barbara Vansa’s office, 298 ballots were cast on the first day of early voting, including 146 mail ballots. The county clerk’s office polling place had the most activity with 87 votes cast there Tuesday – 85 Republican ballots and 3 Democratic ballots. Other early voting polling places are located in Buckholts, Thorndale and Rockdale.
All Milam County races will be decided in the Republican primary. There are two contested county wide races and three contested precinct races.
Sheriff David Greene is challenged by former constable Herbie Vaughan. Greene is seeking his third four-year term as sheriff. Vaughan also challenged him in 2012.
There is no incumbent in the race for county tax assessor-collector. GOP candidates for that position are Sherry Mueck and Melanie Crook.
County commissioners up for election this year are Precinct 1 Commissioner Richard (Opey) Watkins, and Precinct 2 Commissioner John Fisher. Fisher is opposed in the primary by Odes Foster.
In the constable races, incumbent Precinct 1 Constable John Anderle is challenged by Steve English and Precinct 2 Constable Charlie West is opposed by Kenny Schneebeli. Precinct 3 Constable Jay Beathard is unopposed in the GOP primary and Michael M. Moehling Jr., a Thorndale Police officer, is unopposed for Constable Precinct 4 in the Democratic primary. Current Precinct 4 Constable Giles Summerlin did not file to run for re-election and is retiring.

Early voting runs through Feb. 26 at the following polling locations:

• Milam County Clerk’s Office, 107 West Main Street, Cameron, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. weekdays and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 20
• Buckholts Community Center-110 W. Main, Buckholts, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
• Rockdale Regional Juvenile Justice Center-696 N FM 487 Rockdale, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
• Thorndale VFW Hall-302 E. Moerbe, Thorndale, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.